to the top of the page

ND Dry Pea & Lentil Council

    »  ND Dry Pea & Lentil Council »  

About the Council

The North Dakota Dry Pea and Lentil Association introduced legislation during the 1997 legislative session to promote the state’s dry pea, lentil, chickpea, lupin, and fava bean (pulse crops) industries, and create a checkoff.  The assessment of one per cent of net value was established for pulse crops grown in North Dakota and sold to a first purchaser. 

Additionally, the legislation created the Dry Pea & Lentil Council. It specifies that the primary duty of the Council is to manage the grower’s investment. It also identifies the target areas for funding as; Included is participation in programs sponsored by the U.S. Dry Pea and Lentil Council.

The Council consists of five producers from districts across North Dakota. Each producer is elected to serve a three year term. The five elected growers are elected in district elections by county representatives.

Council Members

Chair:           Kim Saueressig, McClusk
Vice ChairBob Finken, Douglas
                       Greg Busch, Columbus
                       Jeremy Huether, Mott